U.S. flag An official website of the United States government
  1. Home
  2. Advisory Committees
  3. Committees and Meeting Materials
  4. Radiation-Emitting Products
  5. Technical Electronic Product Radiation Safety Standards Committee
  1. Radiation-Emitting Products

Technical Electronic Product Radiation Safety Standards Committee

About the Committee

This advisory committee was established in accordance with the Radiation Control for Health and Safety Act of 1968. This committee advises FDA regarding proposed performance standards for electronic products which emit radiation. Mandatory performance standards currently exist for television receivers, cold-cathode gas discharge tubes, diagnostic x-ray systems and their major components, radiographic equipment, fluoroscopic equipment, computed tomography equipment, cabinet x-ray systems, microwave ovens, laser products, sunlamp products and ultraviolet lamps intended for use in sunlamp products, high-intensity mercury vapor discharge lamps, and ultrasonic therapy products.

These standards are in the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Food and Drugs 21 Part 1020 – Performance Standards for Ionizing Radiation Emitting Products, 1030 – Performance Standards for Microwave and Radio Frequency Emitting Products, 1040 -Performance Standards for Light-Emitting Products, and 1050 - Performance Standards for Sonic, Infrasonic, and Ultrasonic Radiation-Emitting Products.


The Food and Drug Administration’s Center for Devices and Radiological Health is always seeking high-quality nominees for representatives to serve on its Technical Electronic Product Radiation Safety Standards Committee (TEPRSSC).

TEPRSSC consists of 15 members, five representatives of regulated industry, five of the government (Federal, State, or local), and five of the general public, one of whom must be a representative of organized labor. Members must be technically qualified by training and experience in one or more fields of science or engineering applicable to electronic product radiation safety.

Individuals or organizations wishing to nominate technically qualified individuals interested in serving on this committee should forward a letter of nomination along with a complete résumé or curriculum vitae, including current business address and telephone number. Nominations should be emailed (email is the preferred method although mail is acceptable) to Akinola Awojope, Center for Devices and Radiological Health, Office of Management 10903 New Hampshire Ave., Silver Spring, MD, 20993

Contact Information

FDA Advisory Committee Information Line
(301-443-0572 in the Washington DC area)

Please call the Information Line for up-to-date information on this meeting.

Back to Top